After getting mentored by some of the biggest names in the marketing industry...
I discovered a pattern.
Many of them are focused on client acquisition.
They obsess about teaching how to get more leads and sales.
I seldom hear them talking about retention.
To build a durable and sustainable business...
Retention plays a bigger role than acquisition.
Otherwise, the business owner keeps running on the acquisition hamster wheel.
The business will struggle once ads and client acquisition costs increase.
It struggles once conversion rates drop and only a few new clients enter.
It may even start making losses if the backend sales can't cover the ad costs.
This is possible if retention isn't designed and built from the start.
In this post, we'll explore why retention is rarely covered...
And why is client retention important?
Many marketing practices work great in acquiring clients at the start.
But it's only for the short-term.
In the long run, those practices destroy retention.
It makes churn inevitable.
Imagine...
You signed up for a program titled "Make $10K per month in your coaching business within 90 days!"
How do you feel if you don't make $10K per month by the time 90 days are up?
It's normal to feel disappointed.
Because the big claim in the program name already sets the expectations.
Disappointments erode trust.
When multiple disappointments accumulate...
Clients leave quietly.
This is just an example.
There are many other examples of trust leaks.
But here's a critical point to note:
Whenever expectations are misaligned...
That's a seed for retention failure.
These types of things happen often.
Over-promising and under-delivering seems to be the norm.
Some call it a scam.
These businesses simply rely on using big claims to attract new clients.
Now you know why the market is filled with skepticism.
Many people have been burned by those profit-focused businesses.
So they stop buying readily.
Sales cycles take longer now.
When clients leave after experiencing disappointments...
They seldom return.
This also means their lifetime value has hit a ceiling.
Let's do some math.
You'll see how focusing on retention can create a huge impact in your business...
In terms of lifetime value and profitability.
Scenario A
Your ad campaign brought you 100 clients.
Each of them bought a $7 offer.
But the cost per acquisition (CPA) is $20.
So you've made (100 x $7) - (100 x $20) = -$1,300
You're losing $1,300 on the front-end offer.
If you're able to retain 50% of the 100 clients...
And they return to make a second purchase.
Let's say the second offer is now a $200 program.
You'd have made (50 x $200) = $10,000
In total, you'd have made $10,000 + (-$1,300) = $8700
Now, let's look at Scenario B.
All numbers will remain the same, except for the number of retained clients.
We increased the retained clients by 10.
And we'll see how much more profit will be made.
Scenario B
The front-end offer is $7.
CPA is $20.
You'll make a loss of $1300 for acquiring 100 clients.
Now you retain 60 clients, instead of 50.
If 60 clients return to make a second purchase.
Each of them buys your $200 program.
You'd have made (60 x $200) = $12,000
In total, you'd have made $12,000 + (-$1,300) = $10,700
Comparing Scenario A vs B,
Just increasing retention by 10 clients has led to an increase of 22.9% in profit.
If you lose the client just after their first purchase, the client's lifetime value is only $7.
But if you retained the client and they make the second purchase...
The lifetime value increases to $207.
Now, let's look at some intangible benefits that can't be directly measured by money...
But they will lead to monetary returns anyway.
When your business designs retention intentionally from the start...
You'll be mindful of the client experience you create.
Trust leaks will be addressed.
There will be alignment in values, beliefs, offers, messaging, and the audience you serve.
Expectations will be aligned with what is delivered.
Clients increase trust in your business when expectations are met.
Your business stands out and becomes memorable when you overdeliver.
This ensures the business maintains a good reputation.
When clients leave positive reviews online for you...
The effect compounds over the years.
Because people tend to Google you first and check you out.
Before they decide whether to buy from you.
On the other hand...
Bad news travels fast.
Especially with the internet.
Anyone can go online and write a negative review.
The next moment...
It may go viral.
This happens often for acquisition-focused businesses.
When the client has misaligned expectations...
They have a poor experience.
When they're disappointed...
When they feel angry...
Emotions take over.
They share it with people they know.
To help others avoid getting burned.
Imagine how a prospect feels when they see overwhelming negative reviews online.
They leave without leaving an enquiry.
These businesses later wonder why conversions drop and CPA increases.
It's most likely because of their bad reputation.
Their poor retention has also affected their acquisition.
A business with a good reputation is more likely to get referrals.
Because clients who have a good experience working with you...
Will also feel safe to be your advocate.
They know you're trustworthy and will deliver your promises.
They trust you to take care of the person they refer.
Clients are most fearful when the referral they made backfired.
Because the business didn't live up to expectations.
This situation makes it awkward for the client to recommend the business.
It may also destroy the client's relationship with the person they refer.
Needless to say...
Clients who had a poor experience with a business will not feel motivated to make referrals.
From these examples, we can clearly see why client retention is important.
But it's a long-term play.
Retention-focused businesses care about long-term sustainability.
They look at the compounding effects of trust and good reputation.
You should also realize...
Client acquisition gets easier when retention is designed.
Acquisition-focused businesses focus on the short-term benefits.
They look at extracting money from the client in the shortest time possible.
When a client leaves, they acquire a new one from their marketing.
Instead of asking "Why do clients leave?" and "How can I retain them longer?"
They ask, "How can I get more clients?"
That explains why retention is rarely taught.
Most people like to see fast results.
Optimizing funnels, tweaking copy, and increasing conversions give immediate feedback through figures.
People can justify whether a tactic worked or not just by looking at the numbers.
Retention is different.
It requires consistency in showing up...
It demands that you fulfill promises over and over again.
You can only see the compound effects of retention in the long-term.
That's why there's no clear category king for retention.
Because it's unsexy.
But it's definitely necessary in a low-trust market.
That's the reason I do what I do.
To create businesses that clients willingly want to stay with.
As it gets more difficult to acquire new clients,
And CPA continues to increase...
Focusing on client retention will be the best bet to build a durable business.
The longer a client willingly stays with your business...
They buy more frequently...
They spend more on each transaction...
And they're more likely to refer new clients to you.
There's nothing to lose.
Everything to gain.
Client retention compounds client acquisition.
Prioritize People > Profits.
Always.
- Herek
P.S. If you'd like to explore more of my Client Retention content...
Feel free to follow me on the following platforms:
- LinkedIn.
- YouTube.
If you'd like to have a peek at my personal life...
I post more personal stuff on:
P.P.S. In case you missed it... Read the Client Retention Top 10 FAQs HERE. Then you'll understand our philosophy behind everything we do.
I look forward to sharing more with you in the next post.
If you enjoyed reading this post... Feel free to check out the other posts!
#8: What Is The Retention Architecture model: The 3 layers Explained
#9: the hidden costs of ignoring retention principles (No one talks about this)
#10: Why clients still leave despite enjoying great service?
#11: Why have traditional marketing tactics lost effectiveness?
#13: Why businesses lose clients: The hidden role of trust leaks
#16: Where Does Client Trust Break Down? The Trust Leak Stages Explained
#17: Why tactical optimization can't fix weak business foundations
#18: What should consultants do when clients insist on their ideas?
#21: Why do clients request a refund? (It's not what you think)
#22: Case study 1 - how retention principles saved a marriage...
#25: Read this if you use AI in business (It's killing client retention... And more)
#29: How To Increase Client Lifetime Value Using Retention Principles
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